• Uncategorized
  • 0

Klein Takes Title at Justin Norton Tournament

By The Chronicle

RAINIER — Rainier’s Brody Klein was the top finisher at the 2020 Sgt. Justin Norton Memorial boys wrestling tournament, capturing the 160-pound title.

Klein started off with a first-round bye, then pinned three straight opponents for the individual championship, including over Eatonville’s Kaden Olsen in the semifinals and Vashon Island’s Jordan Rutschow in the finals.

Adna’s Lucas Ashley and Tenino’s Robert Marti were the only other local wrestlers to place in the top four.

Ashley, the defending 152-pound Class 2B state champion, placed second in the 160-pound division. Marti finished fourth at 220 pounds. He started off with two straight pins, followed by a 16-4 major decision over Kalama’s Elijah Haynes in the semifinals and then fell in a 13-3 major decision to Forks’ Hayden Queen in the championship match.

Marti pinned two straight opponents before losing a 5-4 decision to Nooksack Valley’s Levi Harlan in the semifinals. He rebounded by pinning Mabton’s Marco Velasquez in the consolation semifinals.
Eatonville won the tournament with 164 points.

Rainier was the highest-placing local team, finishing 13th out of 18 teams with 51 points. Tenino was 14th with 42 points and Adna was 17th with 26 points.

Winlock Boys Win Napavine Tigers Classic

NAPAVINE — Winlock’s Dustin Thayer won the 126-pound title and the Cardinals boys captured the Napavine Tigers Classic tournament championship Saturday.

Six Lewis County boys in all captured titles, including Thayer, Toledo’s Trey Rego, Damian Soto and Michael Echtle, Chehalis’ Brennan Trujillo and Onalaska’s Ashtin Draper.

On the girls side, five locals won individual titles: Centralia’s Jade Hudson and Angie Contreras, along with W.F. West’s Courtney Jones, Paetynn Lopes and Xylia Watner.

Centralia girls and W.F. West boys each placed second as a team, while W.F. West girls finished third in the 17-team tournament.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *