• Uncategorized
  • 0

Prep Softball: Adna’s Rainey, Pocklington Lead Local Contingent of All-State Softball Athletes

By The Chronicle

Adna’s Haley Rainey was named the All-State 2B player of the year and coach Bruce Pocklington was named the coach of the year as released by the Washington State Softball Coaches Association this week.

Pocklington led the Pirates to a 25-2 record and the State 2B softball title in his second season as the head coach.

Rainey threw 20 innings during league play and struck out 39 batters to go with a 1.40 ERA. At the plate, she hit .684 with a .703 on base percentage. She collected 27 RBI, 11 doubles, three triples and four home runs.

Several local players were represented on the 2B first team. Rainey was recognized as a pitcher along with Pe Ell-Willapa Valley’s Kamryn Adkins. The anchor of the Titans’ pitching staff helped lead the team to the 2B state championship game in the circle while hitting .431 with a .511 on base percentage and a .737 slugging percentage. She scored 39 runs and had five doubles and five home runs. PWV’s Grace Hodel was named the first team catcher.

Adna’s Payton Aselton and PWV’s Katie Adkins and Britney Patrick were each named to the first team infield. Aselton hit .690 with a .769 on base percentage while scoring 22 runs, knocking in 15 runs and collecting two triples and three doubles in Central 2B League games.

Patrick hit .554 with 31 runs and 54 RBI while tallying 11 doubles, 10 triples and eight home runs and was able to get on base 59 percent of the time and accumulated a slugging percentage of 1.216. Patrick was named the Pacific 2B League MVP.

PWV’s Katelyn McGough and Morton-White Pass’ Hailey Brooks were named to the First Team outfield. McGough scored 50 runs to go along with eight doubles and eight home runs while hitting .539. She also had a .622 on base percentage and a 1.092 slugging percentage.

Also earning first team honors as utility players were Adna’s Skye Snow and Napavine’s Ada Williams. Snow batted .536 with a .618 on base percentage while scoring 13 runs and knocking in 14 runs. In the pitching circle, Snow struck out 30 batters in 30 innings with a 1.75 ERA in C2BL games.

Williams hit .593 and had 37 RBI along with 33 runs. She hit nine home runs while the senior led the Tigers in the circle as well.

Adna’s Emma Eko was named an honorable mention at catcher.

In the 2A ranks, several Bearcats and a Tiger were able to garner an All-State selection.

W.F. West’s Paetynn Lopez was named the first team catcher. Lopez hit .393 with a .857 slugging percentage and an on base percentage of .480 while collecting 37 runs and driving in 39 runs. She also had 12 doubles and seven home runs.

Ashlyn Whalen earned the nod at shortstop on the first team. Also named the co-offensive MVP of the Evergreen 2A Conference, Whalen hit .506 with a .606 on base percentage while gathering 36 RBI and scoring 47 runs. She whacked nine doubles and 11 home runs.

Kamy Dacus was named a second team pitcher. The freshman pitched most of the innings in the circle for the Bearcats, throwing 130 innings to accumulate 186 strikeouts and a 2.15 ERA. She was also a pleasant surprise at the plate, hitting three home runs and hitting .409 with a .682 slugging percentage.

W.F. West junior Ava Fugate was named to the second team at third base and fellow Bearcat junior Paytton Crawford was selected for the second team outfield. Centralia’s Courtney Spriggs was selected as an honorable mention in the outfield.

Woodland’s Olivia Grey was named the 2A player of the year and coach Tom Christensen was named the coach of the year.

Washington State Softball Coaches Association All-State Teams

2A All-State Team

Player of the Year: Olivia Grey, Woodland

Coach of the Year: Tom Christensen, Woodland

First Team


Olivia Grey, Woodland

Kaia Oliver, Ridgefield


Paetynn Lopez, W.F. West

First Baseman

Maddie Thompson, West Valley

Second Baseman

Kekai Schultz, Ridgefield


Ashlyn Whalen, W.F. West

Third Baseman

Kelly Sweyer, Woodland


Michaela Carter, Cedarcrest

Megan Bellusci, Anacortes

Katie Cunningham, Tumwater


Brooke Jordan, Archbishop Murphy

Second Team


Savannah Smith, Sehome

Kamy Dacus, W.F. West


Megan Hall, Sehome

First Baseman

Sadie Chipley, Olympic

Second Baseman

Emma Gouge, Liberty


Kaily Christensen, Woodland

Third Baseman

Ava Fugate, W.F. West


Paytton Crawford, W.F. West

Nikole Schock, Tumwater

Hailey Marlow, West Valley


Riley Conn, Sedro-Woolley

Honorable Mentions


Riley Prikle, Anacortes

Riley Mae Swanson, Lakewood

Breanna Swendt, Lynden

Rylee Peters, Ephrata

Kendall Locke, East Valley (Yakima)


Emma Jenkins, Ridgefield

Ellee Siebol, East Valley (Yakima)

Sierra Hammond, Aberdeen

First Baseman

Riley Anderson, Lynden

Lindsey South, Anacortes

Second Baseman

Cassidy Donaldson, R.A. Long

Natalie Krueger, Lakewood

Isabelle Dennis, Sequim


Sarah Jenkins, Ridgefield

Sydney Wells, Selah

Myiah Seaton, Tumwater

Molly Gates, Olympic

Third Baseman

Hallie McDougle, Pullman

Emmi Clarke, Tumwater


Natalie Zender, Sehome

Courtney Spriggs, Centralia

Allanah Mitchell, Olympic

Ellaney Jelcick, Tumwater

Lilly Arch, West Valley

Haylie Doyle-Folks, River Ridge


Gracie Shelter, Burlington-Edison

Maya Valdez, Othello

Peyton Rudd, Port Angeles

2B All-State Team

Player of the Year: Haley Rainey, Adna

Coach of the Year: Bruce Pocklington, Adna

First Team


Haley Rainey, Adna

Alison Shaler, Northwest Christian (Colbert)

Kamryn Adkins, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley


Grace Hodel, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

First Baseman

Jordan Rabe, Northwest Christian (Colbert)


Payton Aselton, Adna

Kaylee Barnum, Ocosta

Faith Iverson, Northwest Christian (Colbert)

Britney Patrick, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

Katie Adkins, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley


Katelyn McGough, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

Thea Seitz, Friday Harbor

Hailey Brooks, Morton-White Pass


Skye Snow, Adna

Ada Williams, Napavine

Honorable Mentions


Grace Pauls, Friday Harbor


Emma Eko, Adna


Keely Studebaker-Smith, Toutle Lake

Jaidyn Stephens, Liberty

Bailey Sobosky, Chewelah

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *