• Uncategorized
  • 0

Wednesday’s Prep Wrestling: Centralia, W.F. West Top Tumwater, Black Hills in EvCo Double Dual

By The Chronicle
TUMWATER — The Bearcats and Tigers both traveled to Tumwater to face the Thunderbirds and Wolves in a double dual Evergreen 2A Conference wrestling match, with W.F. West and Centralia defeating both teams here on Wednesday.
W.F. West crushed Black Hills 58-12. It was closer against Tumwater, but the Bearcats prevailed 44-30.
Against Black Hills, W.F. West’s Darren Gray (106), Roehre Cunningham (113), Levi Walters (126), Mason Marones (138), Chris Powe (195) and Isaac Reavis (220) each won by pin, while Caleb Walters (120) Zach Evans (132), Kyle Gray (145), Carver Brennan (152) and Jack Mallonee (182) all won by decision.
The match was much closer against Tumwater, but Caleb and Levi Walters, Evans, Marones, Brennan, Eklund, Cunningham and Gray all earned their second wins of the night, which was enough to edge the Thunderbirds.
Centralia defeated Black Hills 60-18 and took down Tumwater 49-25.
Facing Black Hills, Centralia’s Juan Gaspar (113), Eddie Matias (120), Mykka McAllister (132), Jesse Weeks (145), Tristan Dickey (182), Aaron Adamo (195), Isaias Almontes (220) all won by pin. Deyvi Gaspar (126), Elliott Nye (170) and Jacob Reyna (106) each won by forfeit.
It was a hard fought win for the Tigers against the Thunderbirds, but Juan and Deyvi Gaspar, Matias, Reyna, McAllister, Dickey, Adamo and Almontes each earned their second win of the night. Centralia’s Caleb Hylton (160) pinned his opponent in 4:22 for his first win of the night.
W.F. West is at the King of the Hill tournament on Saturday in Tumwater while Centralia travels to Longview to participate in the Lumberjack Classic. The Bearcats and Tigers meet next Wednesday in wrestling’s Swamp Cup match in Chehalis.

Rochester Falls to Aberdeen
ROCHESTER — The Warriors didn’t have quite enough against Aberdeen here on Wednesday, as the Bobcats won 66-12 in an Evergreen 2A Conference dual wrestling meet.
Rochester’s Jayden Lancaster (145) won by pin over Patrick Hunt in 1 minute, 31 seconds. The other Warrior win came from a Reese Cohron (106) forfeit.
There were a couple close matches. Aberdeen’s Jeremy Roberts (113) won a close decision over Rochester’s Jay Brandt, 4-0. Angel Cisneros (132) competed in a tough match against Rochester’s Riley Cohron, with Cisneros winning 4-1.
The Warrior’s Dailin Schlect (126), Ian Lupardus (152), Hayden Dahl (160), Gio Mino (170), Eulises Tinoco (182), Garrett Glazer (195), Caelen Christensen (220) and Elizjah Spitzer (285) all lost by pin.
The Rochester boys are back on the mats on Saturday in Kalama for the Rubber Chicken Classic and the girls travel to the Puyallup Viking Invite on Saturday in the last tournament of the year before sub-regionals.

Napavine Competes in Mix-and-Match
ILWACO — Napavine’s wrestlers took part in a mix-and-match affair here Wednesday, with Casey Oxford winning both of his matches.
Oxford went 2-0 in the 152-pound classification. Sydney Burdick (135) and Aydan Costin (170) each won their only matches, while Grant Bennett (182) won with a second-round pin.
The Tigers are back in action on Saturday, with the boys competing in Kittitas’ tournament and the girls wrestling at Grandview.

At Tumwater
106: Darren Gray (W) pinned Payton Gerdts
113: Roehre Cunningham (W) pinned Noah Neal, :15
120: Caleb Walters (W) won by decision over Sergio Hernandez, 10-6
126: Levi Walters (W) pinned Daniel Kane
132: Zach Evans (W) won by decision over Michael Westby, 11-6
138: Mason Marones (W) won by pin
145: Kyle Gray (W) won by decision over Nolan Keesee, 13-11 OT
152: Carver Brennan (W) won by decision, 7-2
160: Julian Kennedy (BH) pinned Ka’Imi Henry
170: Ben Eklund (W) won by forfeit
182: Jack Mallonee (W) won by decision over Christan Reese, 4-2
195: Chris Powe (W) pinned Jordan Clearage
220: Isaac Reavis (W) pinned Ben Harris
285: Cade Elliott (BH) pinned Chase Conway

113: Roehre Cunningham (W) won by forfeit
120: Caleb Walters (W) pinned Kaden Latcha
126: Levi Walters (W) won by tech fall over Brooks Greenwell
132: Zach Evans (W) pinned Reese Martin
138: Mason Marones (W) pinned Jordan Westin
145: Mason Burbidge (T) won by decision over Kyle Gray, 12-5
152: Carver Brennan (W) pinned Kane Palmer
160: Carson Greenwell (T) pinned Austin Pierson
170: Ben Eklund won by decision over Jacob Clark, 3-0
182: Matthew Lund (T) pinned Jack Mallonee
195: Trace Spath (T) won by decision over Chris Powe, 8-1
220: Ajin Abrahamson (T) pinned Isaac Reavis
285: Cy Hicks (T) pinned Chase Conway
106: Darren Gray (W) pinned Brodie Yack

106: Jacob Reyna (C) pinned Dewey Lake, 1:12
113: Juan Gaspar (C) won by forfeit
120: Eddie Matias (C) pinned Hayden Latchaw, 3:42
126: Dayvi Gaspar (C) won by decision Brooks Greenwell, 15-7
132: Mykka McAllister (C) pinned Reece Martin, 3:06
138: Jordan Weston (T) pinned Ivan Eacker, 3:09
145: Mason Burgidge (T) won by major decision over Jesse Weeks, 13-4
152: Cane Palmer (T) won by minor decision over Trevor Richey, 7-3
160: Caleb Hylton (C) pinned Carson Greenwell, 4:22
170: Tristan Dickey (C) pinned Jacob Clark, 2:10
182: Mathew Lund (T) pinned Elliot Nye, :29
195: Aaron Adamo (C) pinned Trace Spath, 1:09
220: Izz Almontes (C) won by minor decision over Aiden Abrahamson, 12-10
285: Cy Hicks (T) pinned Austin Lucht, 5:39

113: Juan Gaspar (C) pinned Noah Neil, :30
120: Eddie Matias (C) pinned Danny Kane, 1:13
126: Deyvi Gaspar (C) won by forfeit
132: Mykka McAllister (C) pinned David Westby, :50
138: Nolen Reese (BH) pinned Ivan Eacker, 1:12
145: Jesse Weeks (C) pinned Kyler Roberts, 1:33
152: Lucas Johnson (BH) won by minor decision Trevor Richey, 9-8
160: Julian Kennedy (BH) won by minor decision over Caleb Hylton, 15-9
170: Elliot Nye (C) won by forfeit
182: Tristan Dickey (C) pinned Jordan Claredge, 1:30
195: Aaron Adamo (C) pinned Christian Reese, 3:10
220: Izz Almontes (C) pinned Ben Harran, 1:10
285: Tate Elliot (BH) pinned Austin Lucht, 1:45
106: Jacob Reyna (C) won by forfeit

At Rochester
106: Reese Cohron (R) won by forfeit
113: Jeremy Roberts (A) won by decision over Jay Brandt, 4-0
120: Edgar Salazar (A) won by forfeit
126: Tyler Souphommanichanh (A) pinned Dailin Schlect, 1:07
132: Angel Cisneros (A) won by decision over Riley Cohron, 4-1
138: Bodie Wharton (A) won by forfeit
145: Jayden Lancaster (R) pinned Patrick Hunt, 1:31
152: Garret Springer (A) pinned Ian Lupardus, 2:30
160: Seth Brown (A) pinned Hayden Dahl, 1:51
170: Thomas Williams (A) pinned Gio Mino, 2:32
182: Joseph Bercier (A) pinned Eulises Tinoco, 1:32
195: Daustin Estrada (A) pinned Garrett Glazer, :41
220: Tobias Christensen (A) pinned Caelen Christensen, 2:20
285: Skyler Murray (A) pinned Elizjah Spitzer, :34

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *